Welcome to our February 2021 Friends of Unity Blog Hop!

I am thrilled to join the Friends of Unity group! I love Unity stamps and I hope to create cards every month that inspire and spark creativity.

The theme for this month is paper piecing. What a fun technique! When I heard this was our cue, I immediately took out my scissors and was ready to go!

This is my first card. I just love this lady so much.

It was an absolute blast making this card. I paper pieced the dress with a happy floral print. Next I colored her hair with silver and violet metallic colored pencils. I used Copic markers for the skin and purse. I added Ranger Liquid Pearls to her jewelry and 3D Crystal laquer to her eye glasses. Then I used Tim Holtz Distress oxide ink with a Tim Holtz music notes stencil for background interest. Last for embellishments, I rolled out the washi tape and Scrapper’s Floss to tie on the sentiment tag. I chose a button to finish it off…cute as a button!
Supplies I used for this card.
Unity has more stamps with this lovely lady. There is also a gentleman image too.
I had such a fun time making the first card, I made another. This time I chose a darker, moodier pattern for paper piecing the dress. I used Copic markers to color the rest of the image, 3D Crystal laquer for the glasses and Ranger liquid pearls for her jewelry. I stamped the sentiment with Versamark ink and heat embossed it with Brutus Monroe alabaster embossing powder.
Paper piecing isn’t complete without a sofa and pillows! I like how it turned out but there are definitely things I could have done more carefully. I cut out each pillow and blanket and blended Tim Holtz distress ink on them to enhance their color. I used markers to color the drapes. The sentiment, I embossed with clear powder to give it dimension. I added Stickles on the hearts at the corners. A Gina Marie die cut frame completes the card. It was fun picking out colors and patterns while pretending I am an interior designer!

Supplies I used for the sofa card.

The sofa image is from this Kit of the Month.

One more paper pieced card. I used a fine patterned pink paper for the girl’s shirt.
and another… hat, gloves and mittens with blue polka dot patterned paper.

Friends of Unity :

Crystal

Eileen

Colleen

Kim

Rachel(Me)

Amber

Dawn B.

Dawn F.

Joyce

Robyn

Thanks for stopping by, I enjoyed sharing my paper piecing projects. Please let me know if you like this technique and what images you have paper pieced. I have a prize for one of you who comments below! The winner will be announced next month.

Have a wonderful day. Until next time, stay safe and healthy!

Rachel

You can also find me on Instagram at cardartbyrachel.

“There is always light, if only we’re brave enough to see it. If only we’re brave enough to be it.” Amanda Gorman

54 thoughts on “Welcome to our February 2021 Friends of Unity Blog Hop!

  1. Wow!! So many wonderful cards, Rachel! I love them all but that sassy g-ma is my fave! I love that you shared a couple different cards using her too! So excited that you’ve joined us at Friends of Unity! Woohoo!!

    Like

  2. Welcome to this wonderful blog hop, Rachel! I love all of your examples of this very fun technique. You really did well on capturing the essence of the Demand a Re-Count lady.

    Like

  3. Wow! You created so many adorable paper pieced cards! Love that little old lady and her fun dresses, the cute couch, and lovely outfits on the last two pretty girls!

    Like

  4. So glad you’ve joined the FOU girls as it’s always my favorite hop! I love your first ole’ gal. Perfect paper choice and you did an beautiful job on her hair! WOW!! Love the couch paper too! At first I thought it was fabric! Another perfect choice! Thanks for inspiring me with so many wonderful projects!!

    Like

  5. I always think of AngieGirls/clothing to paper piece – will have to expand my thinking to other stamps!! The sofa looks great and its fun to see how different papers change the feel of the cards!

    Like

  6. Welcome and yay for us gals who love this hop and Unity Stamps… I can see you are so so very talented in all your creations, but… ! I Demand A Recount has been on my wish list so bad!! Now, whew your sassy granny baba is terrific with all those added touches she looks ready to tie one on too. referring to your tag, tee hee- (ya know at a good night of bingo)! Tee hee. She made me smile thanks! And welcome again.

    Like

  7. These are all just delightful! I love the first two cards – her purple hair is fabulous! And love her pretty floral dress.

    Like

  8. Really great cards! I love the little old ladies (especially the one with the stenciled background) and the Phyllis Harris stamps!

    Like

  9. Oh my gosh Rachel, you really went on a creative tear with these adorable cards! The one with the senior lady (with the fabulous wardrobe, I might add) cracks me up. LOVE how you colored her glasses! Welcome to the Friends of Unity group. I look forward to seeing more of your fabulous designs.

    Like

  10. Rachel, these are all so wonderful. I love the design on your very first card. I am so excited about you joining FOU! We are going to have so much fun.

    Like

  11. Welcome to our team! Amazing cards! That g-ma cracks me up and I just love her different dresses and all her details are all very creative. Love the patterns on the couch. And your last two cards are beautiful too. You are very talented and rocked this theme! Thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

Leave a comment