The Friends of Unity Blog Hop ~ October 2023

Hi Friends! It’s October and the scenery is changing ever so quickly. Our blog hop theme this month is “Build A Scene”, so fitting. It just occured to me that the cards I am sharing are not definite autumn scenes. Maybe because I am still enjoying our last few days of warm weather here. I loved creating these cards as I imagine myself in these places to escape and find a moment of peace and relaxation.

Card #1 – A coffee meet up

One of my favorite things to do is to meet up with a friend or friends for coffee. I love sitting outside and catching up on all the latest life adventures. When I look at this scene, I can feel myself sitting in one of those chairs.

I stamped the Unity stamp image called “…your own happy” on watercolor paper with Versafine black ink. I used various distress inks to paint in the color. Next I inked up “Love & Wisdom Background” in red and stamped it over the left side and top edge. Then I blended a few shades of browns around the edge. For extra character, I heat embossed antique gold over the perimeter of the card. Bits of red glitter embossing powder adds sparkle too. I stamped a coffee stain image from “Beautiful Elements” mixed media – Kit 1 by Jo-Ja for Unity. Burlap string, a white button and a gold metal embellishment finishes the card.

Not planned, I just noticed my choice of red and green color scheme could be given as a Christmas card!

Card #2 – Herd it’s your birthday

I love this cow and the farm scene in the back. I grew up in a tiny farming town so country vignettes are special to me. I used Tierra Jackson’s “Have You Heard?” stamp set she created for Unity. The barn background is Unity’s “Time to Shine”.

I stamped the cow on watercolor paper. Next I masked the ear and stamped the barn images. Then I watercolored it all using distress inks. I stamped h-e-r-d from an old alphabet set and embossed it in red glitter. (hard to see!) I framed each letter on black. Then I stamped the sentiment and framed it on black too. I die cut the cardfront using a double stitched mini slimline die. Finally I glued all the pieces on the card and added a olive green embellishment.

I left the upper right corner blank. I was going to add clouds or birds, but sometimes it’s nice to leave empty space on the card.

Card #3 – Restoration

Something about this scene just makes me feel restored. Maybe that’s why it is called “Restoration” by Unity! I decided to try my hand at a night scene. I wanted the lights to illuminate the sky and create a focal point with the hammock below.

I stamped the image in black ink on watercolor paper. I blended and painted distress inks on the cardfront careful to keep a circular area lighter than the rest of the scene. I painted the lights yellow and added Stickles glitter glue for sparkle. Next I painted the hammock and pillows. I added yellow glitter glue on the lower pillow and jewel drops on the red upper one. I die cut a Hero Arts frame, tearing parts off to add character and adhered it to the card front. A smoky grey base finishes the card.

I left off a sentiment because I didn’t want to interrupt the mood. Inside I will stamp “take a rest”.

Thanks for hopping and taking time to comment. I appreciate your kind words! Following is a list of all the friends on the hop.

Crystal

Amber

Bobbie Sue

Gaylynn

Joyce

Dawn F.

Rachel (me)

Until next month, take care and hope you create a scene on a card. don’t forget to post it on the “Unity Show and Tell” Facebook page. I love seeing your beautiful cards!

May you enjoy the fall colors and embrace the changing weather. Happy Autumn!

Rachel

Please follow me on Instagram @cardartbyrachel

11 thoughts on “The Friends of Unity Blog Hop ~ October 2023

  1. Amazing cards, Rachel! I so love your watercoloring! Love the script with the cafe card! I adore the barn with the cute cow! And I’d love to just swing in a hammock and look at the stars in your last card! All so amazing! Love them!

    Like

  2. What wonderful scenes you’ve created! That second one is truly creative! The blog this month has inspire me to try to create some scenes. Thank!
    — Wilma DeGraffenreid

    Like

  3. Oh my goodness. These card scenes are all so fabulous. I gotta say the cow one made me smile. 🙂 Lovely work, as always.

    Like

  4. Just stunning scenes! I love how each card is different. I love the coffee scene can be for many different seasons. I love how you incorporated the farm stamp with the cow, it’s genius. And that last card reminds of hanging out in the backyard on a cool fall night star gazing. So creative and so inspirational. Love them all!!!

    Like

  5. Gorgeous array of cards! I’m a coffee lover so I adore the coffee shop scene; wonderful texture, too. Love the way you did the word ‘herd’ on the adorable birthday card. And the last card is just so peaceful to look at.

    Like

  6. Such great cards but love the cow! It goes perfectly with that barn scene and I love your letters spelling out HERD!!

    Like

  7. The first card is gorgeous with the sepia tones. I think the second card is too cute for words. The third card is so calming. Fantastic creations my friend!

    Like

Leave a comment