The Friends of Unity Blog Hop ~ February 2024

Hi Crafty friends! February is here, I am enjoying a few blue skies and I can feel a hint of Spring. That makes me happy! Our theme for this month is a sketch (pictured above). Sketches are a great starting point, just fill in the spaces and there you have a card design. If you ever get into a creative slump, have no fear, try out a few sketches to get those ideas flowing.

Card #1 ~ “the heart of a bff” by Phyllis Harris for Unity Stamp Company

I love this stamp so much by Phyllis Harris. The fine lines, the two friends stretching into a heart shape, the carefree vibes… it’s all so good.

I stamped the image on watercolor paper and then die cut it out with a Gina Marie wonky stitched pattern. I trimmed off the sides to mimic the sketch. Next I grabbed a scrap of watercolored paper in greenish blues and a roll of washi tape with the same hues. Then I chose Tim Holtz distress inks and painted the image.

Keeping with the sketch, I added a sheer organza ribbon over the image. I added the washi tape to the background and die cut the love script in light pink. All of this went nicely on a rich lavendar cardbase. Just a tiny bit of a border adds so much.

Finally I embellished with Stickles glitter and Nuvo drops. I strategically placed the glitter to similate jewelry.

Card #2 ~ “Winnie the Pooh Rainbow Searching” by Angie Blom for Unity Stamp Company

This Pooh card is a completely different style than the previous one. I went for a grittier, grungier look. It’s always fun trying new things out, I never know if it works but love to share anyways!

I stamped the partial image using VersaFine Claire Morning Mist making sure the Pooh image was complete but faded out the umbrella. Next I stamped the “Love & Wisdom Background” by Sandhya Iyer for Unity in the upper right side and at the bottom. I watercolored Pooh and created a hint of a rainbow on the umbrella. Washi tape with hearts was adhered on the panel in keeping with the sketch.

I stamped the script again on a black cardbase masking off areas to avoid ink. I adhered the cardfront. Then I stamped the sentiment, cut it into two pieces and adhered at an angle. Finally I applied 3D Crystqal Laquer to Pooh and Stickles glitter over the raindrops.

Card #3 ~ “Hoppy & Hedgie” by Lisa Glanz for Unity Stamp Company

A funny thing about me is that I love coloring balloons but in real life I am actually afraid of them. The anticipation of sharp, loud popping noises makes me so uneasy! Anyways, I decided I was going to have fun creating balloons with a marbleized look to pair with a calico kitty!

After coloring the images, I wrapped fishing line around the panel with a threaded heart button. I wanted to keep in line with the sketch and I was toying with vellum vs. fishing line so that it did not completely cover the kitty. I framed the image on a muted lavender. Then I found a coordinating patterned paper and cut to fit the sketch. I glued it onto a buttery cream cardbase. I stamped the sentiment directly on the pattern, which I usually don’t do for fear of it getting lost in the pattern– I love how it turned out. Finally I positioned the front panel onto the base and that’s it!

What I love about this card is that the balloons go off the edge and it creates a feeling of upward movement to me.

I hope you found a few ideas and inspirations in my cards this month. Please play along with our sketch on the Unity (show & tell) Facebook group page and add your card to the album. I can’t wait to see your creations!

Below are links to the friends on the hop.

Crystal

Tammy

Gaylynn

Colleen

April

Dawn F

Amber

Joyce

Rachel (me)

Kim

Thank you so much for stopping by! Have a wonderful month and Happy Valentines to you all! Did you notice I snuck in a heart on each card?!

Lots of Love,

Rachel

Please follow me on Instagram @cardartbyrachel

11 thoughts on “The Friends of Unity Blog Hop ~ February 2024

  1. Amazing cards, Rachel! I love the colors and bow on the first card! The partial stamping and text is so perfect on the second card! But the kitty and those amazing balloons steal the show!! Wow! Love them all though!

    Like

  2. Love the balloons going off the edge!! My favorite is the Phyllis Harris image. The colors you chose are just perfect!!

    Like

  3. Wow and I did notice, you are so fun. These Little girls wear the ankle bling perfectly. Love love the terrific red with Whinnie, seems always always yellow.. I see red is better. The fish line is such fun. Gosh I love your touches.

    Like

  4. All three of your cards are very creative takes on this sketch. The Phyllis Harris girls are very fun and the way you colored them is beautiful. I like how you used the washi tape and die cut word instead of just using paper and a stamped sentiment. Your combination of stamps used on the Pooh card. And those balloons on the cat card are amazing!!!

    Like

Leave a comment