The Friends of Unity Blog Hop ~ September 2023

Hi to all! It’s September and time for another blog hop. Have you transitioned into Fall and cooler temperatures yet? I am slowly getting there feeling the light chill in the air. It’s a great time for cardmaking, we have lots of fun ideas as “Technique” is the cue this month. Come along and let’s discover old and new techniques together!

Card #1 ~ “Inked Florals”~embossing, watercolor

A beautiful flow of mood evoking color contrasted with black heavy lines can be quite striking. I began with layers of Blueprint Sketch distress ink over a panel of watercolor paper. I stamped the image with Versafine ink in black and heat embossed with clear powder. Embossed images adds so much texture and creates a shiny surface. A mix of distress inks brings the flowers and background to life. I kept the colors fluid yet somewhat defined. Large, dusty-plum metallic brads on a sentiment strip finishes the card.

I raised the sentiment with double sided foam. This gives the card depth.

Card #2 ~ “Coolest Chick Ever”~jewel drops, crystal lacquer, glitter glue

This adorable hen is just too cool! Embellishing with all kinds of extras often takes a card to another level. Not only is it somewhat pleasing to the eye, but fun to touch and feel. To create this card I pooled a few distress inks on watercolor paper. I stamped the chick and sentiment in Versafine ink. I framed it on red and then adhered to the card base.

I applied 3D crystal laquer on the glasses, Stickles glitter glue on the bow and Nuvo jewel drops in random areas on the card. How much fun is that?!

Card #3 ~ “Always Better”~paper piecing, clean and simple, bit of color, layered stamping

This adorable girl and fox duo is so detailed and intricate, I decided not to color it. I stamped the image twice, once on a cardfront and once on patterned paper. I fussy-cut out the dress and hair band. I adhered the pieces. Next I stamped the flowers with Speckled Egg distress ink. Then I stamped the sentiment overlapping the flowers. I die cut the panel with a Gina Marie Designs stitched die and framed it with a fine black edge before adhering to a white cardbase. Finally I splattered very tiny specks of ink for interest!

A close-up of the beautiful detail on the fox is absolutely amazing!

Card #4 ~ “…more than beautiful” by Phyllis Harris for Unity ~ layered stamping, mixed media, washi tape, complementary colors

Phyllis Harris, the artist, captures such a beautiful sense of peace and calm. Her images are always amazing stamped and lightly watercolored, This time I decided to play around and add layers with a little bit of a mixed media style mindful not to overshadow the character.

I began by stamping the image on white and coloring her with copic markers. For the sentiment, I used Peacock Feathers distress ink. I stenciled a heart shape over the image with Kitsch Flamingo distress oxide ink, making sure to avoid the girl’s face. Roughing up the edges with scissor blades and blending ink around the edges in teal, pink and brown gives it that worn feel. Washi tape, string and a heart die embossed in gold embellishes the card. Needing a little more to fill space, a heart flurry does just that! A pink base and a teal hair streak finishes the card!

The stencil fills in the dress and gives it pattern which also can be viewed with a translucent/see-through quality.

I hope you are enjoying the hop. Here are the friends so you can continue hopping. Please click on each person and leave a comment. One person will be randomly chosen to win a “thank you” prize and announced on next month’s hop!

Crystal

Dawn F.

Jane

Joyce

Rachel (me)

Tammy

Gaylynn

Colleen

Bobbie Sue

The winner of last month’s prize is…. Papersmiles! Congratulations, please message me your address and I will send you my thank you gift!

One last look at my cards this month. Do you have a favorite? Which technique are you thinking of using on your next card?

Have a wonderful September. As we move into the next season, I hope you have lots of crafty time in between and around the fun Fall activities!

Rachel

Please follow me on instagram ~ @cardartbyrachel

14 thoughts on “The Friends of Unity Blog Hop ~ September 2023

  1. Oh, Rachel, so many wonderful cards!! I love the techniques you shared! I think my favorite is definitely your third card. The CAS design seriously catches my eye. I love the paper piecing! So perfect!

    Like

  2. You always take my breath away! These are GORGEOUS. I love to paperpiece and I see a great lesson here that less is definately best. Wow!!!

    Like

  3. What a fun array of cards with so many fun techniques. The chicken is so cute; love her! The subtle paper piecing is so striking. And I love the very different way the last card came together so beautifully.

    Like

  4. You put together so many beautiful techniques this month. The close up photos bring out all of the details very nicely.

    Like

Leave a comment